Yuja Curd ~ Secret Recipe Club


This month for the Secret Recipe Club, I was assigned the blog, Koreafornia Cooking. Koreafornia cooking is all about Korean food with a California spirit. This was a fantastic blog to look through because there were so many new ingredients that I wasn’t familiar with. I would have loved to make many of the recipes however, lately I’m on a citrus kick so I decided to tackle Yuja Curd.

Yuja (also known as Yuzu, in Japanese) is a citrus fruit that originates in East Asia and is very rare to get your hands on in the United States. In fact, I couldn’t find it anywhere so I had to improvise. But more on that in a bit. The yuja fruit looks like a small grapefruit and can be yellow or green. It’s very tart and has mandarin overtones. Once I learned what yuja was, I was intrigued and need to give it a try.

So back to my quest for the yuja. I couldn’t find it anywhere so I cast my line out into the vast internet and thanks to the wonder that is Amazon, I was able to purchase a bottle of yuja juice. From there, it was easy! Mix juice with eggs, sugar and butter and you have homemade fruit curd. In mere moments, I had a sweetly tart delicious treat. I couldn’t wait to taste it. It tasted sweet but more tart that a lemon curd. It also tasted very fresh and almost grassy in a very good way, if that makes any sense.

This can be spread on bread, used in cakes, made into a parfait with fresh berries… the ideas are endless! If you can’t find yuja, you could also make lemon curd using this recipe too just by replacing the yuja juice and zest with lemons. Lemon curd is truly one of my all-time favorite things. I can eat it right out of the jar. Don’t judge!

*Do you have a “new to you” food that you’ve tried lately? What was it and what did you think?

Enjoy!

~K

One Year Ago: Mason Jar Pies

I didn’t adapt anything from the original recipe so you can head on over to Koreafornian Cooking to check it out!ย Yuja Curdย 

Now, don’t forget to go take a peek at what all the rest of the Secret Recipe Club was up to this month!



About FoodBabbles

I'm just a girl with a passion for good food. Especially the sweet side of life. I love to eat it, make it, read about it... if it has to do with food, it's for me. I'd like to share my food, writing and photos with you. Sometimes they come out great. Other times, well... there are some mishaps but I'll share those with you too. I'm only human! Either way, I enjoy it and hope you will too! So here are sugary, sweet culinary delights from my talented yet dangerously klutzy hands so obviously not bred to work with sharp knives and hot ovens.
This entry was posted in Sauces, Secret Recipe Club and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Yuja Curd ~ Secret Recipe Club

  1. Lisa says:

    I love Yuzu, but have never even thought of using it in a curd, yet it’s so obvious since it’s citrus. It looks really fantastic..uber smooth and silky!

  2. bakeaholicmama says:

    Great post! I’ve learned something today… I’ve never heard of Yuja… but I love any type of citrus curd. I’m not on a quest to get some yuja juice!!

  3. I’m so happy that somone in SRC made this recipe and discovered the joys of yuzu/yuja! ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m addicted to it.

  4. sounds great, + how cool that you were able to get the juice from amazon. amazing has everything, don’t they!

  5. oooh… i’m actually pretty stoked for spot prawns. they come into season this month and while i’ve had them before, it will be new to me to handle them myself. i made my partner handle them last season because they’re so fresh….they’re typically still alive when you get them home. kind of creeps me out. but if you can handle this, i can handle that. ack.

    happy src reveal!

    • FoodBabbles says:

      Ha! I hear ya on the creepiness of handling live prawns… I don’t know if I could do that so good luck!! And what a wonderful thing to be looking forward to. Love them but never handled them at home myself so kudos to you.

  6. Rituparna says:

    This is the first time I have heard about the fruit. I am intrigued. The curd looks delicious & smooth. Lemon curd, I lick it of the vessel I use to make it. Don’t judge ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. Pingback: Yuja Curd: FoodBabbles | The Secret Recipe Club

Talk To Me!

