Sourdough Pretzels ~ #FirstOnTheFirst


This month in New Jersey, we’ve had some unseasonably warm weather. I can’t ever remember experiencing 90 degree days in April. I’m sure somewhere in the record books they would certainly show them but I cannot recall them in my lifetime thus far. It was so warm at times this month that our neighbors filled up their little blow up pool for their girls and invited Maddy to have a dip.

Since it’s April, I haven’t gotten her a swim suit yet. I certainly didn’t ever anticipate needing one in early Spring! So I rolled Maddy’s pants up and told her she could get her feet wet. Silly Mommy. Moments later and one large gleeful splash, she was soaking wet much to her chagrin! Playing in that blow up pool with her friends in all her clothes, she was squealing with delight. It’s honestly one of the happiest moments I think she’s ever experienced in her short little life.

After those few hot days, we dipped back to more appropriate April weather with 50-60 degree days and plenty of rain. But after watching Madelyn having such a blast, it makes me yearn for those warm, lazy days of summer. There’s something about warm late Spring and Summer days that makes me think of things like hot dogs and pretzels. Maybe it’s that baseball season is here. I’m certainly not an avid fan but I can remember as a child going to plenty of baseball games with my brother, Matt and my dad.

So for this month we made homemade pretzels. I decided to try my hand at a sourdough pretzel since I’ve failed at other sourdough attempts in the past. This time, I just bought a starter, used it for this project and called it a day. I still want to accomplish making a spectacular sourdough loaf but this is not the time. This is the time for pretzels!

They weren’t difficult to make at all. Dough was put together and set aside to rise and that was it. Shape them into a pretzel shape and bake them! It doesn’t get any easier than that. In no time, you have warm buttery, salted sourdough pretzels. Nothing like homemade.

Join us, won’t you? Next month we’ll be making churros! We’d love to see your creations! You don’t even need to have a blog. Anyone can join in. The more the merrier!

*What are you looking forward to about the warmer months?

Enjoy!

~K

I didn’t change a thing so you can check out this great recipe from King Arthur Flour!

Now, don’t forget to go check out how all the other First on the First people did!

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

About FoodBabbles

I'm just a girl with a passion for good food. Especially the sweet side of life. I love to eat it, make it, read about it... if it has to do with food, it's for me. I'd like to share my food, writing and photos with you. Sometimes they come out great. Other times, well... there are some mishaps but I'll share those with you too. I'm only human! Either way, I enjoy it and hope you will too! So here are sugary, sweet culinary delights from my talented yet dangerously klutzy hands so obviously not bred to work with sharp knives and hot ovens.
This entry was posted in Breads, First on the First and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Sourdough Pretzels ~ #FirstOnTheFirst

  1. Being from Philly, I’m pretty particular about my soft pretzels and these sure look like they’d make the cut (seriously, they look perfect.) As to your question, what do I NOT look forward too with the warmer months? I’m a 100% summer girl – love wearing flip flops, no jackets, eating fresh corn, tomatoes, basil just about daily and spending as much time as possible at the beach 🙂

    • FoodBabbles says:

      It sounds like you and I are cut from the same cloth!! I love the moment it gets warmer… the food, the weather and we pretty much stay outside all day long! And I loathe wearing socks so the minute I can free my toes and bask them in the sunlight, I’m a happy camper 🙂 And Maddy is such an outdoorsy girl so I love when it gets warm and we can go do little day trips all over the place.

  2. chefconnie says:

    My hubs has been wanting me to make pretzels. Maybe I should…

  3. Oh, these are beautiful!! I love sourdough anything, what a great idea.

  4. They look so perfect, and I love the sourdough idea.

  5. So pretty! Bummed I missed this month! I really wanted to make pretzels.

    • FoodBabbles says:

      You were definitely missed! I was looking for ya yesterday 😉 Figured you may just have been posting late. But there’s always next month!! Let’s see some churros

Talk To Me!

