Vanilla Fleur de Sel Caramels


I am on SUCH a salted caramel kick! It all started with the discovery of these incredible salted honey caramels that I got in a recent Foodzie box. Then Mike stumbled across Haagen-Dazs Salted Caramel Truffle ice cream… Oh. My. Goodness! From there this addiction has just been spiraling completely out of control. With that being said, the next logical step clearly must be that I need to make my own. This could be dangerous…

Being able to have homemade salted caramels at my beck and call any time I want? These caramels only took about 20 minutes to make. Although, they take about 2 excruciating hours to cool and set but none the less… Very dangerous.  Sweet combines with salty fleur de sel and the mellowness of vanilla. If you love traditional caramels, you’ll love this next level of perfection.

*Are you a fan of salty and sweet together? Or not so much?

Enjoy!

~K

One Year Ago: Fresh Raspberry Bars

Vanilla Fleur de Sel Caramels Adapted from Gourmet

1 cup heavy cream

5 tablespoons unsalted butter, cut into pieces

1 vanilla bean, split and seeds scraped

1 teaspoon fleur de sel plus more for sprinkling

1 1/2 cups sugar

1/4 light corn syrup

1/4 cup water

– Line bottom and sides of an 8-inch square baking pan with parchment paper, then lightly oil parchment.

– Bring cream, butter, vanilla bean and seeds, and fleur de sel to a boil in a small saucepan, then remove from heat and set aside.

– Boil sugar, corn syrup, and water in a 3- to 4-quart heavy saucepan, stirring until sugar is dissolved. Boil, without stirring but gently swirling pan, until mixture is a light golden caramel.

– Carefully stir in cream mixture (mixture will bubble up) and simmer, stirring frequently, until caramel registers 248°F on a candy thermometer, 10 to 15 minutes. Pour into baking pan and allow to cool 30 minutes. Sprinkle a little more fleur de sel over the top of the caramels and continue to cool 2 hours. Cut into 1-inch pieces, then wrap each piece in a 4-inch square of wax paper, twisting 2 ends to close.

– Enjoy!

I submitted this post to What’s Cookin’ Thursdays!

About FoodBabbles

I'm just a girl with a passion for good food. Especially the sweet side of life. I love to eat it, make it, read about it... if it has to do with food, it's for me. I'd like to share my food, writing and photos with you. Sometimes they come out great. Other times, well... there are some mishaps but I'll share those with you too. I'm only human! Either way, I enjoy it and hope you will too! So here are sugary, sweet culinary delights from my talented yet dangerously klutzy hands so obviously not bred to work with sharp knives and hot ovens.
This entry was posted in Candy and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Vanilla Fleur de Sel Caramels

  1. Sarah says:

    I share your love for this delicious combination. I first had salted caramel in some rather expensive handmade chocolates and thought I wouldn’t like it but then there was a taste explosion in my mouth and I was hooked!

  2. Salty and sweet = best combination ever, especially when caramel is involved. I really don’t get to try it enough!

  3. These look really amazing, I will have to try and make them some time!

  4. Pingback: What’s Cookin Thursday’s | Countertop Confections

  5. Oh yum. Totally want some of these!

  6. georgiecakes says:

    Oh my, these are scrumptious they wouldn’t last long around here either.

Talk To Me!

