Popcorn Peanut Cake ~ A Guest Post By Serena of Teaspoon of Spice


Last month, I had the pleasure of introducing you to Deanna, one half of the blog Teaspoon of Spice. I mentioned then that you would soon be hearing from her co-blogger, Serena and here she is! Serena, like Deanna is also a participant in First On The First with Carrie and I. Today she’s here to tell you all about her mom and Popcorn Cake. I had never even heard of popcorn cake until this post and I kid you not, if I had marshmallows in my house I would have made it immediately after reading her recipe, minus the peanut factor. But that’s one of the best things about this recipe, it sounds like an easy, heavenly little treat that can easily be adapted in many ways.. Serena, like Deanna is a registered dietician with a passion for good food. She is a mother of three, a wife, nutrition spokesperson and an experienced writer. Today, she’s here to share with you fond memories of her mother as well as a tasty recipe. Happy to have you here today, Serena! Thanks!

Enjoy!

~K

Popcorn Peanut Cake

Since it’s nearly Mother’s Day, I need to share about how my mom invented Popcorn Cake. Or that’s what I thought. My mom adores popcorn. She loved it so much that she served it for dinner every Sunday night; that’s right, for dinner – along with fruit and homemade shakes. She told us that she had cooked all week and needed a break; and when you live on a cattle ranch in the middle of nowhere, popcorn with shakes and fruit were Mom’s version of fast food. Mom was also the only person I ever knew who made Popcorn Cake.

Mom made Popcorn Cake for picnics, pot lucks and most holidays. I remember Mom making Halloween Popcorn Cakes colored orange and pumpkin-shaped. There were bunny-shaped popcorn cakes for Easter picnics (which were usually eaten inside the pick-up truck since it was always chilly in March/April in Montana.)

Mom’s popcorn cakes were usually made with air-popped popcorn, butter, marshmallows, and always gumdrops. But I’ve done a little digging through community cookbooks and the Internet, and most recipes use additional sugar, oil, butter, M&M’s and salted peanuts. My version is made with popcorn, marshmallows, a little butter, salted peanuts, raisins and a few M&M’s for decoration – because the kids at the potluck parties to which I take my Popcorn Cakes are already getting plenty of sugar. It’s always a hit with moms and kids alike! Happy Mother’s Day Mom!

Recipe:

Ingredients

2 quarts air-popped or microwave popcorn

1 cup salted peanuts

1 cup raisins

10 ounce package marshmallows

3 tablespoons butter

M&M’s for decoration

Instructions

Mix together popcorn, peanuts and raisins in a large bowl.

Cook marshmallows with butter on 70-80% power in microwave until butter is melted, about 2-3 minutes, stirring halfway through. Immediately pour over popcorn mixture and stir quickly. Spoon into angel food cake pan coated with cooking spray. Once cool, unmold and decorate with M&M’s.

Serena Ball blogs at www.TeaspoonofSpice.com

About FoodBabbles

I'm just a girl with a passion for good food. Especially the sweet side of life. I love to eat it, make it, read about it... if it has to do with food, it's for me. I'd like to share my food, writing and photos with you. Sometimes they come out great. Other times, well... there are some mishaps but I'll share those with you too. I'm only human! Either way, I enjoy it and hope you will too! So here are sugary, sweet culinary delights from my talented yet dangerously klutzy hands so obviously not bred to work with sharp knives and hot ovens.
This entry was posted in Cake, Guest Post, Snacks and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Popcorn Peanut Cake ~ A Guest Post By Serena of Teaspoon of Spice

  1. Farida says:

    This is what i called creativity :))) thanks for SHARING THIS AWSOME UNUSUSAL RECIPE

  2. This is so cool, it’s like a rice krispy treat meets sweetened popcorn. Your Mom is very creative and I love the popcorn, shake dinner idea. I must try this!

  3. Oh wow, my hubby would adore this! Great guest post, and I am thinking this could be a great BDay cake for my popcorn addict hubby, LOL! Hugs, Terra

  4. snixykitchen says:

    This looks like a gigantic popcorn ball…and I’d eat every bite in one sitting. Thanks for the idea:)

  5. Ann from Sumptuous Spoonfuls says:

    My mom made a popcorn cake like this when we were kids too! Ours had gumdrops and peanuts in it. It was SO good 🙂

  6. Wait until I tell my husband about this cake. He is going to go wild. He has a huge obsession with popcorn. Huge! He’ll sit through the sappiest girly movie out there just for the popcorn. This cake really looks amazing.

    • FoodBabbles says:

      Isn’t this cake a little stroke of genius?!? I couldn’t believe my eyes. So easy and looks just amazing. I’m sure your husband is gonna love it!

Talk To Me!

