Apricot-Sage Cookies


Sage is one of my all-time favorite herbs. Usually the first thing I think when I smell sage is a roasted chicken or a big tray of stuffing. Oh and then there were those incredible sage goat cheese ebelskivers!! Don’t even get me started on those. Ridiculously good! But I also love when I get to use herbs in something sweet, where you might not expect to see them. For instance, sorbet, lemonade or cookies. Sage isn’t something I’ve had in a cookie yet so that’s why when I saw these cookies I had to give them a try.

These cookies have an interesting texture thanks to the addition of cornmeal which also isn’t something I’ve had before in a cookie. At first I was unsure if I even liked it, in fact. Yet I found that I couldn’t stop eating them. They’re slightly sweet with hints of sage complimented by the apricot preserves. I took them up to my father’s house for a Sunday dinner and what do you know? That was their same response. They were very well received.

The dough is a very dry dough that you do have to work to get it to come together. I thought I was going to be kneading forever but just when you think to yourself, “This is never coming together!” you’ll notice that it is finally smoothing out so hang in there. Also, you could swap out the herb perhaps for some lemon thyme or rosemary. Both would be so tasty. These are grown-up cookies that are just sweet enough.

*Have you tried herbs in baked goods? What’s your favorite one to use?

Enjoy!

~K

One Year Ago: Chocolate Cheesecake

I didn’t change a thing so you can check the recipe out HERE.

I submitted this recipe to What’s Cookin’ Thursdays!

About FoodBabbles

I'm just a girl with a passion for good food. Especially the sweet side of life. I love to eat it, make it, read about it... if it has to do with food, it's for me. I'd like to share my food, writing and photos with you. Sometimes they come out great. Other times, well... there are some mishaps but I'll share those with you too. I'm only human! Either way, I enjoy it and hope you will too! So here are sugary, sweet culinary delights from my talented yet dangerously klutzy hands so obviously not bred to work with sharp knives and hot ovens.
This entry was posted in Cookies and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Apricot-Sage Cookies

  1. OK these look amazing! I never think to use sage beyond Thanksgiving dishes or a butternut squash ravioli dish. Will definitely try these. I just made chive biscuits which I’ll post tomorrow and have a rosemary shortbread cookie recipe that I always make during the holidays.

  2. Lisa says:

    The minute I saw ‘Apricot-Sage cookies’, I zoomed over here. I’m completely enamored with them. These are a must make for me..soon!

  3. Suzanne says:

    This combination intrigues me. I can’t wait to try it out. Love you pictures.

  4. I do not want to change any ingredients. I like it just as it is.

Talk To Me!

