Happy Mother’s Day!


I actually didn’t have a post planned for this morning yet I feel the need to write to you all and to the mothers in my life as well. As I sit on the rug playing with my girls I feel so blessed to be a mother. HB came along and surprised me at a very young age. Even though I was in college at the time and life as I knew it was about to change, I never would have had it any other way. I cherish every second of the last 14 years. She is growing into such a lovely, talented young lady. She’s got quite the knack for art. She astounds me each time she shows me a piece of her work. She’s also developed an interest in photography. As she grows and changes, I see so much of myself in her.

Maddy and Molly amaze me each day. They are growing and changing at such an amazing rate. Each day, they show me something new… a new word, a new talent, a new milestone. A few weeks ago, Madelyn was speaking these choppy 2-3 word sentences and now she’s having full conversations with me.

A week ago, Molly would only sit up for mere seconds at a time. This morning she’s sitting up independently reaching all around her, grabbing for her toys and she’s not toppling over. Such little things but to a mother, they’re all life’s little miracles. When you have children people tell you to cherish it because it goes so fast. You can’t possibly know just how fast it truly will fly by until you become a mother. I have three incredible daughters and that is the greatest gift I could have ever received.

So this morning, I just want to wish all of you mothers who take the time to read my words a very happy Mother’s Day! It is truly the hardest, most exhausting, most rewarding job on earth.

To my mother, thank you for always being there for me. You did an incredible job raising me in the face of numerous challenges. Nana, thank you for being there for us also. You were a monumental piece of my childhood and are hugely responsible also for shaping the woman who I am today. To my step-mother… Mom, you came into my life and never tried to replace my mother but you truly became another mother to me. You were always so easy to talk to and I knew that I could confide in you with no fear. I knew that no matter what I had to tell you, you would give me unwavering support and help me figure it all out. Thank you for that. It means more to me than you could possibly know. Last but definitely not least, to my mother-in-law… As we’ve become family over the last 4 years, I am so grateful to have you in my life. I love that I can always talk to you about every little thing and you always listen, offering your advice. You provide me such guidance and I’m so thankful for that. I’m also thankful that you are always there for us and the girls. I love that you are able to spend so much time with the girls and that you’re such a huge part of their lives. You are a huge help to Mike and I also. I love you all so very much! Happy Mother’s Day!

~K

About FoodBabbles

I'm just a girl with a passion for good food. Especially the sweet side of life. I love to eat it, make it, read about it... if it has to do with food, it's for me. I'd like to share my food, writing and photos with you. Sometimes they come out great. Other times, well... there are some mishaps but I'll share those with you too. I'm only human! Either way, I enjoy it and hope you will too! So here are sugary, sweet culinary delights from my talented yet dangerously klutzy hands so obviously not bred to work with sharp knives and hot ovens.
This entry was posted in Everything Else!. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Happy Mother’s Day!

  1. MommaD says:

    Happy Mothers Day to you too. I’m so happy my granddaughters have such a sweet and loving mom 🙂

  2. Happy Mothers Day your post is beautiful as are your children. Have a wonderful day!!

  3. Ohhhh Kate . . . You are such a sweetheart! Thank you for such a thoughtful, caring, loving Mother’s Day email to the women in your family. You are truly a blessing and I love you so so sooooo much!
    Happy Mother’s Day to wonderful you!
    Love,
    Nan

  4. Awww, what a nice post. Hope you had a wonderful mother’s day. Gorgeous photos of your beautiful daughters!

  5. What beautiful girls and a beautiful post! Happy belated Mother’s Day.

Talk To Me!

