Chocolate Chip Cherry Swirl Muffins ~ #MuffinMonday


This week’s muffin assignment was a chocolate chip muffin with a peanut butter swirl. Immediately my mouth started watering however, as you all know peanuts are a gigantic “NO!” in our house. So I started thinking about how I might adapt the recipe. As I scanned my cabinets and fridge, my first thought (as it so often is) was Nutella. But then I thought I would really like to use fruit of some type.

Oh how I love cherries! They’re my very favorite fruit and I can’t wait until they are in season again. I can remember as a child eating cherries, my fingers stained red by the juice. They are definitely one of Maddy’s top favorite fruits as well. So once my eyes landed on a jar of cherry preserves in the refrigerator it was a no brainer. That would be our luscious fruit swirl through a sea of chocolate chips all nestled in a moist buttermilk muffin. As I write this, these muffins have already disappeared. As quickly as I made them on Friday, they were devoured. I just made a half batch. You should make a full batch. They won’t go to waste, that’s for sure.

What fruit are you most looking forward to this season?

Enjoy!

~K

Muffin Monday is an initiative by Baker Street. A culinary journey of sharing a wickedly delicious muffin recipe every week. Drop in a quick line to join her on her journey to make the world smile and beat glum Monday mornings week after week

One Year Ago: Chocolate Cheesecake

 

Chocolate Chip Cherry Swirl Muffins 

2 cups all-purpose flour

2/3 cup sugar

1 Tablespoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 1/4 cups buttermilk

1 large egg

2 teaspoon vanilla extract

2/3 cup chocolate chips

3-4 Tablespoons cherry preserves (or other jam/preserve of your choosing)

– Preheat oven to 350 degrees and line a muffin pan with paper liners.

– Combine flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda and salt in a large bowl.

– In a smaller bowl, whisk together the buttermilk, egg and vanilla.

– Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients and stir just until moistened.

– Fold in the chocolate chips.

– Fill each muffin cup 2/3 full (don’t overfill… I did and it wasn’t pretty)

– Dollop each muffin with preserves and use a knife to swirl the fruit through the muffin batter.

– Bake 20-22 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean. Cool in pans for 10 minutes and then remove to wire racks to cool completely.

– Enjoy!

Recipe adapted from Baking From My Home To Yours by Dorie Greenspan

About FoodBabbles

I'm just a girl with a passion for good food. Especially the sweet side of life. I love to eat it, make it, read about it... if it has to do with food, it's for me. I'd like to share my food, writing and photos with you. Sometimes they come out great. Other times, well... there are some mishaps but I'll share those with you too. I'm only human! Either way, I enjoy it and hope you will too! So here are sugary, sweet culinary delights from my talented yet dangerously klutzy hands so obviously not bred to work with sharp knives and hot ovens.
This entry was posted in Muffin Monday, Muffins and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Chocolate Chip Cherry Swirl Muffins ~ #MuffinMonday

  1. Sorry I couldn’t join you this week but these look great! I’m not a peanut butter loving fan so I absolutely love your adaptation of this week’s muffin.

  2. Amy says:

    Delicious! My Mum loves chocolate and cherry – I’ll have to make these for her!

  3. I love the choc and cherry combo it’s sounds fantastic if you could please make a full batch next time and send half to me as I only live in Thailand!! Great job though, I will definately try this recipe when I’m back in the UK and cherries are in season!

  4. I like the adaptation. Yum

  5. What a great idea using a fruit swirl! The cherries must have tasted fantastic along with the tangy buttermilk. Such a versatile recipe – I’ll definitely be trying Nutella in the future as well. Good to bake with you 🙂

    • FoodBabbles says:

      I’m so glad you like my spin on this week’s muffins. There were so many different directions to go. Now I have to go check out what everyone else did!

  6. Cherry swirl sounds absolutely fantastic Kate! Would love to give your version a try. 🙂

  7. Mmmmm I love muffins, and these look gorgous!

  8. Triin says:

    Oh these were simply gorgeous!! The chocolate and jam went together so well! I made 12 and 6 with cherry, 6 with raspberry jam. Haven’t had the chance to try the raspberry ones yet but should be lovely as well.
    But again the only problem I had was that the muffins got stuck in the papers, can’t just peel it off. Should use the spray for the papers before putting in the dough, right?
    Anyway, thanks again for one kick-ass recipe !

    • FoodBabbles says:

      Hmmm… I don’t know what the deal is with those darn muffin liners. I haven’t encountered that problem. My best advice would be like you said, spray the inside of the papers with nonstick cooking spray before you putt the batter in. Good luck!! Wish I could shed more light on that problem. And I’m so glad you liked this recipe too 🙂 You’re making my day with all these nice comments!!

Talk To Me!

