5 Boro Picnyc ~ The Ultimate Picnic on Governors Island


What are you doing this Memorial Day weekend? I can tell you where I’ll be. I will be taking part in a 2-day celebration with craft beer, gourmet eats and live tunes as 5 Boro Picnyc takes over Governors Island 5/26 & 5/27 from 11:30am-4:30pm. Are you in the Tri-State area? Please, come join me! A good time will be had by all for sure.

Do you like beer? Come taste a wide selection of Sixpoint Craft Ales such as Sweet Action, Resin, Sehr Crisp Pils, Righteous Rye, Bengali Tiger, Brownstone Brown Ale, and other brews. How do you feel about Jarlsberg? I know I’m a gigantic fan!  It’s definitely one of my very favorite cheeses. There will be a grilled cheese cookoff sponsored by Jarlsberg Cheese with at least 10 competing chefs. That’s incentive enough for me to show up!

To add some heat to the event, there will be hot sauce tastings from High River Sauces, NY Hot Sauce, Sol Sauce and others all while taking in some amazing Blues bands. Slow Food NYC will be hosting a taco challenge too! There will be more than 20 food stations including food offerings from Jimmy’s No. 43, East Village Meat Market, and Lucky 777 Chili, and plenty of others.

Come out and enjoy a nice relaxing day. Bring your bike and ride around the island. Pack a blanket and pull up a piece of grass to take in the sights and sounds. There will be free ferry rides between Governors Island and Manhattan or Brooklyn. Have kids? Kids are free with a paying adult! This event is inexpensive as it is at only $25 admission. Tickets go on sale 5/24 so be sure to get yours! They’re going to go fast because this is a great event not to be missed. A portion of the ticket sales will benefit this year’s community/charitable partners: Slow Food NYC, Earth Matter, Kingsborough Community College’s Culinary Program and Teen Battle Chef. This is a great way to relax and spend your Memorial Day weekend. So come out, I’d love to see you!

Enjoy!

~K

About FoodBabbles

I'm just a girl with a passion for good food. Especially the sweet side of life. I love to eat it, make it, read about it... if it has to do with food, it's for me. I'd like to share my food, writing and photos with you. Sometimes they come out great. Other times, well... there are some mishaps but I'll share those with you too. I'm only human! Either way, I enjoy it and hope you will too! So here are sugary, sweet culinary delights from my talented yet dangerously klutzy hands so obviously not bred to work with sharp knives and hot ovens.
This entry was posted in Everything Else!. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 5 Boro Picnyc ~ The Ultimate Picnic on Governors Island

  1. This sounds great, live in Brooklyn. Will definitely try to stop by! Thanks for the heads up.

    • FoodBabbles says:

      That’s fantastic!! You should definitely come. Free ferry from Brooklyn 🙂 And of you see me, definitely come over and say “hi.” I would love to meet you! I’ll be there Saturday. My hair is much longer now than in my blog pic. It’s shoulder length and I’ll be with my husband, a little blonde girl and a little baby 🙂 so maybe I’ll see ya!

Talk To Me!

