Oatmeal Muffins with Blueberries & Coconut ~ #MuffinMonday


A good breakfast is my very favorite meal of the day. There’s something about a hearty meal that just starts the day off right. One of my favorite breakfasts is definitely oatmeal.  Warm, creamy and I like mine with lots of “mix-ins.” But for the last week here in New Jersey, it’s been nearly 70 degrees by about 9am so a nice big bowl of oatmeal is one of the last things on my mind.

That’s why when I saw the recipe for Muffin Monday this week I was thrilled! I could make oatmeal with all my “mix-ins” and not sweat to death as I ate it. For these muffins I decided I wanted to add some little wild blueberries and coconut. They couldn’t be tastier. A morning treat that’s just a little bit tropical and the best part is the toasted coconut on top. Don’t be stingy, now! As always, after how tasty they are the next best part is how quick and easy it is to make muffins. I love that. Happy Monday!

Enjoy!

~K

Muffin Monday is an initiative by Baker Street. A culinary journey of sharing a wickedly delicious muffin recipe every week. Drop in a quick line to join her on her journey to make the world smile and beat glum Monday mornings week after week.

Oatmeal Muffins with Blueberries & Coconut

1 cup rolled oats

1 cup all-purpose flour

1/2 cup packed brown sugar

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

1 stick of butter, melted and cooled

1 cup of buttermilk

1/2 teaspoon vanilla

1 large egg, beaten

1 cup blueberries

3/4 cup sweetened flaked coconut, divided

– Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Line a 12-cup muffin tin with paper liners.

– In a large bowl combine the rolled oats, flour, brown sugar, salt, baking powder, baking soda and cinnamon.

– In another smaller bowl, combine the butter, buttermilk, vanilla and egg.

– Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients and mix just until combined.

– Fold in the blueberries and 1/2 cup of the coconut.

– Fill the prepared muffin cups 2/3 full. Sprinkle the tops with remaining coconut.

– Bake for 20 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean. Cool in pan for 1 minute and then cool on a rack.

– Enjoy!

Adapted from Simply Recipes

About FoodBabbles

I'm just a girl with a passion for good food. Especially the sweet side of life. I love to eat it, make it, read about it... if it has to do with food, it's for me. I'd like to share my food, writing and photos with you. Sometimes they come out great. Other times, well... there are some mishaps but I'll share those with you too. I'm only human! Either way, I enjoy it and hope you will too! So here are sugary, sweet culinary delights from my talented yet dangerously klutzy hands so obviously not bred to work with sharp knives and hot ovens.
This entry was posted in Muffin Monday, Muffins and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Oatmeal Muffins with Blueberries & Coconut ~ #MuffinMonday

  1. We had just about the same adaptation! I swapped out all the mixins and used blueberries too. I loved that you added coconut as well. What a fun muffin.

  2. Your muffins look so lovely! Great idea about adding coconut – what a fantastic combo with the blueberries and oatmeal. Happy Muffin Monday 🙂

  3. Meena says:

    I would never have thought of coconut.
    It looks delicious.

  4. toasted coconut and blueberries are one of my favorite combos!

  5. I like mine with mix ins too! I totally pictured this one with toasted coconut! Gorgeous clicks, Kate. 🙂

Talk To Me!

