Strawberry Tofu “Cheesecake” ~ Secret Recipe Club


This month for Secret Recipe Club I was given the blog Enriching Your Kid. Shirley is a clinical psychologist turned stay-at-home mom who chronicles her recipes and attempts to make something both delicious as well as nutritious for her family. As I strolled through her blog, I wasn’t able to figure out exactly where Shirley lives but they don’t have cream cheese! So she had to figure out how to make one of her favorite desserts without the main ingredient. Enter Strawberry Tofu Cheesecake.

Yep, cheesecake with no cheese! I was immediately curious and intrigued. I knew I had to give it a try. This is the healthiest cheesecake you’ll ever eat. The filling is mostly yogurt and tofu. That has healthy written all over it. The filling was sweet and smooth. The strawberry taste was delightful and reminded me of drinking strawberry milk. It didn’t really taste like classic cheesecake but it definitely tasted great!

Sadly, my attempt at making tofu cheesecake has fallen into the category of Flops & Fails. I attempted this recipe twice and was having some issues with my gelatin. It didn’t seem to blend in right and created little specks of gelatin pieces throughout instead of seamlessly becoming part of the filling. So that caused the filling not to set fully. I tried a second time but encountered the same issues. I would have loved to try something else from Shirley’s blog but sadly, I just didn’t have the time.

That being said, I’m sure this is just a case of “operator error” on my part. I had to make a few substitutions for products that we have here in the states versus what Shirley has used. For example, I used yogurt where Shirley used “hung curd.” That definitely could have been part of the issue. I had the thought that perhaps using cottage cheese would have worked better? So if you give this a try, let me know how it works out for you! It certainly would have been very tasty if I had been able to get it to set.

Oh, and I would have had proper garnish if Maddy hadn’t eaten all my strawberries while I was busy changing Molly’s diaper. But alas, here is a picture of my unset, barely garnished strawberry tofu cheesecake.

*What’s your latest struggle in the kitchen?

Enjoy!

~K


One Year Ago: Lemon Meringue Pie

Now don’t forget to go check out what all the other Secret Recipe Club members created this month!



Strawberry Tofu Cheesecake

For Crust

1 1/2 cups finely crushed biscoff cookies

6 Tablespoons butter

3 Tablespoons sugar

For Cheesecake

1 can sweetened condensed milk

200 grams tofu

1 cup plain yogurt

1/3 cup strawberry puree

2 Tablespoons Lime juice

1 teaspoon lemon zest

2 Tablespoons gelatin

1/4 cup water

– Melt the butter and mix it with the Biscoff crumbs. Firmly press the crumb mixture into the base and up the sides of a 10″ tart pan with removable bottom. Freeze for an hour or until set firm.

– Sprinkle the gelatin over the water and let bloom for 5 minutes. Heat over a pan of hot water or in the microwave to dissolve the gelatin.

– Blend the tofu, yogurt and condensed milk until smooth. Blend in the cooled gelatin, strawberry puree, lime juice and lemon zest. Pour into the crust. Refrigerate until set. Garnish with whipped cream and strawberries, if desired and if your 2 year old doesn’t eat your garnish 😉

– Enjoy!

Adapted from Enriching Your Kid


About FoodBabbles

I'm just a girl with a passion for good food. Especially the sweet side of life. I love to eat it, make it, read about it... if it has to do with food, it's for me. I'd like to share my food, writing and photos with you. Sometimes they come out great. Other times, well... there are some mishaps but I'll share those with you too. I'm only human! Either way, I enjoy it and hope you will too! So here are sugary, sweet culinary delights from my talented yet dangerously klutzy hands so obviously not bred to work with sharp knives and hot ovens.
This entry was posted in Cake, Flops & Fails, Secret Recipe Club and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Strawberry Tofu “Cheesecake” ~ Secret Recipe Club

  1. I give you a lot of credit–I don’t know if I would have been so brave to try that. Bravo! (And I understand completely about the kids eating your produce before you get to it!)

    • FoodBabbles says:

      Even though I had some issues, the filling tasted great! I wish it would have worked out. Shirley commented and told me that I should have substituted cottage cheese for hung curd. Oops! So it was totally my screw up.

  2. Shirley says:

    Hi Kate,
    Sorry to hear the gelatine didnt work for you. I live in India, we do have Philadelphia cream cheese being imported here, but just too pricey to use it as often as I would want to. And yes cottage cheese is what we normally substitute with. Tofu was just enriching it further. Love to the kids.

    • FoodBabbles says:

      Hi Shirley! Thanks for the comment and the help with substitution. I loved the taste of this filling. It was smooth, sweet and just wonderful! I’ll definitely give it another try and substitute with cottage cheese. I loved this recipe even though I screwed it up!

  3. Anita Menon says:

    Tofu in cheesecake. Ingenious!! Wold love to give this one a try

  4. Kate, we all have flops and fails – that’s for sure. I do have some problems sometimes with substitutions with ingredients I can’t find here. It’s difficult. This is still so pretty and it sounds really yummy, but the not-setting is definitely troublesome. I didn’t even think you could substitute tofu and gelatin for cream cheese – I learned something new. Anyway, your presentation is still pretty, don’t sweat it.

  5. Jenni says:

    Wow, a tofu cheesecake! Great idea! So sorry to hear that it didn’t set up for you, that’s too bad! I bet it still tasted good, though!

  6. bakeaholicmama says:

    Keep trying different variations… tofu cheesecake sounds like a winner to me! Great Idea!

  7. bakingaddict says:

    Well done for trying… twice! That’s perseverance! It’s a shame it didn’t work out for you in the end. I am intrigued by tofu cheesecake – I’ve tried making tofu chocolate mousse which was amazing so I will have to give this a go someday but with caution 🙂

  8. Lisa says:

    Oh noo..I’m so sorry the cheesecake didn’t turn out. I sort of steer clear of tofu because I got sick after eating some in a Chinese dish. Like the Southern Comfort I tried as a teenager, in which I also threw up, the relationship is over forever! It does look pretty, though 🙂

    • FoodBabbles says:

      Thanks Lisa! I can relate to your relationship with Southern Comfort as I have the same relationships with Sambuca 😉 I can’t even eat black licorice which I loved when I was a child.

  9. haha – little strawberry monster! 😉 us strawberry monsters should align and take over the patch.

    happy SRC reveal!

  10. sorry to hear that this wasn’t the greatest success – it still looks pretty to me! i’m intrigued by the idea of a tofu cheesecake. must try soon!

    • FoodBabbles says:

      Thanks Amy! It tasted fantastic regardless of it not setting. I should have used cottage cheese, not yogurt. Shirley cleared that up for me. So totally my screw up. Gonna have to give it another try.

  11. Megan says:

    Wow! This recipe is so intriguing. Sorry to hear it didn’t work out the way you wanted it to, but it sounds great!

  12. Sorry the recipe didn’t work for you. I was wondering if draining the yogurt, essentially creating yogurt “cheese,” would have firmed up the result a bit more. Or make it less watery.

    • FoodBabbles says:

      That’s a really good idea, Dena! I will give that a try. Shirley from Enriching Your Kid said that she would have used cottage cheese as a substitute. So I’ll have to try it both ways and see if it pans out.

  13. Kirstin says:

    Way to take a risk. This sounds yummy and something I’m going to try sometime.

  14. Great attempt….I have not had good results with working with gelatin. My husband would love this concept…cheesecake without the cheese!

    • FoodBabbles says:

      Thanks, Asiya! My husband isn’t a fan of cheese either and definitely doesn’t like cheesecake however he isn’t a fan of tofu so this cheeseless cheesecake wasn’t up his alley. So picky! 😉

  15. I’m impressed you gave it two tries at least! And tried something I probably wouldn’t have. 🙂

Talk To Me!

