Lemon Kissed Wedding Cake Cookies ~ Guest Post By Donna Of “What The Dog Ate”


In the past five months Carrie and I have had the pleasure of getting to know a great group of people through First on the First. They’re baking and blogging along with us and we keep growing! I always mention that “we” are making these things, but you all have no idea who “we” are. So as I mentioned last month, every now and then I’ll be hosting some of our First on the First bloggers here and introducing them to you. We’ve formed a talented group of people who are always up for a challenge and are so creative in their recipes each month, putting their own unique spin on them.

This month my guest is Donna, author of the blog What The Dog Ate. She’s a wife, mother and teacher who lives in California with her family and of course, her dogs! Thanks so much for being my guest here today, Donna. Happy to have you!

Enjoy!

~K

 

Hello  all! Donna here from What the Dog Ate. I’m so excited to  guest post for Kate at Food Babbles. I’m a wife, mother, teacher, and keeper of the leash. I teach by day and blog by night. I live in sunny California with my hubby, two kiddos, and two dogs. I created What the Dog Ate in order to catalog all of the wonderful recipes our family enjoys. In the process, I’ve discovered that I’m not alone.

It’s time to make the Wedding Cake Cookie more than just a winter treat. I’ve always loved this cookie for its rich, crumbly, sweetness.  A hint of lemon makes it just right for Spring too. Woof!

I can’t take sole credit for this idea. I was at my local Fresh and Easy store when I saw a package of what appeared to be Wedding Cake Cookies. A closer inspection of the package revealed that they were lemon flavored. I knew that if I bought them, I rip them open in the car and get powdered sugar all over my dashboard. So, I decided to just make them at home.

I made these for Easter, so at first I thought I might call them Cotton Tails. Do you think they look like little bunny rabbits, tushes in the air, hopping though a green field?  Maybe an army of rabbits in formation?  🙂

Lemon Kissed Wedding Cake Cookies (adapted from King Arthur Flour)

For the Cookie

1 cup unsalted butter

1 1/2 cups powdered sugar

1 teaspoon salt

1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract

1 teaspoon lemon extract (Next time I would switch out the vanilla extract for an extra hit of lemon extract.)

3/4 cup almond flour, I used Bob’s Red Mill

2 1/2 cups (9.5 ounces) all-purpose flour

For the Coating

2 cups powdered sugar

zest of 1 lemon

– Pre-heat the oven to 325 degrees.  Line two cookie sheets each with a Silpat mat.

– Place the butter, 1 1/2 cups powdered sugar, salt, and extracts in the bowl of a standing mixer.  Beat until well combined, scraping down the bowl as needed.  Add the almond flour and beat until well combined.  Beat in the flour until just combined.

– Use a teaspoon size cookie scoop to make the dough into 1-inch balls.  Roll between your hands to make smooth balls.  I got 48 cookies.

– Bake at 325 for 15-20 minutes, switching and rotating the sheets halfway through.  The cookie balls should feel when you gently touch the top.

– Meanwhile, in a shallow bowl, prepare the coating.  Use your fingers to combine 2 cups powdered sugar and the lemon zest.  I found the lemon zest to clump a little with the powdered sugar.  Rubbing the mixture between my fingers seemed to help incorporate the zest throughout.

– Remove the cookies from the oven and transfer them about six at a time to the bowl of powdered lemon sugar.  Roll the cookies in the mixture to coat and allow to cool on a wire rack.  The powdered sugar will melt into the warm cookies.  Re-roll them when they cool.  Give them a third roll if you’re so inclined!

Enjoy!

About FoodBabbles

I'm just a girl with a passion for good food. Especially the sweet side of life. I love to eat it, make it, read about it... if it has to do with food, it's for me. I'd like to share my food, writing and photos with you. Sometimes they come out great. Other times, well... there are some mishaps but I'll share those with you too. I'm only human! Either way, I enjoy it and hope you will too! So here are sugary, sweet culinary delights from my talented yet dangerously klutzy hands so obviously not bred to work with sharp knives and hot ovens.
This entry was posted in Cookies, First on the First, Guest Post and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Lemon Kissed Wedding Cake Cookies ~ Guest Post By Donna Of “What The Dog Ate”

  1. So nice to meet you and what a wonderful recipe. I love those cookies. Great recipe! I also have two dogs that hang out in the kitchen with me.

  2. Pingback: Lemon Kissed Wedding Cake Cookies ~ Guest Post By Donna Of … | wedding planner | wedding planner|wedding gowns|wedding cake

  3. tigger2477 says:

    Great cookie! These are originally a Greek cookie called Kourambiedes and served at weddings and often at Christmas. Some people add lemon and I think both varieties are wonderful!

  4. Pingback: What’s Been Happenin’ In The Cocina ~ 6/8/12 | Juanita's Cocina

Talk To Me!

