Cherry-Berry Cobblerettes with Cinnamon Ice Cream ~ A Guest Post By Holly of “Gluten Free Goes Vintage”


Today we have another one of the talented participants in First on the First for you. Holly, author of the blog Gluten Free Goes Vintage is the mother of two ASD daughters who respond to a gluten-free diet. She’s working her way toward re-designing favorite family recipes to fit their new lifestyle. Her recipes are easily adaptable and tasty too! So take it away, Holly! Thanks for being here today.

Enjoy!

~K

When Kate asked me to guest post for her, I was pretty excited.  I enjoy “First on the First” and stretching my skills in the kitchen.  In fact, my whole blog – Gluten Free Goes Vintage – was the result of the need to learn how to bake without wheat or gluten.  I love vintage recipes, and I love converting them into gluten free versions to share with others who need to avoid wheat and gluten.

I also happen to live in Western Michigan, heart of blueberry country and just around the corner from an area called “The Fruit Ridge.”  We spend most of the summer awash in fruits of all kind.  Rough, huh?  So today, I’m sharing with you a cobbler recipe from an old Robin Hood Flour recipe booklet.  I made mine in little individual souffle dishes that I bought at World Market.  The package said “6 oz,” but I don’t think that’s quite accurate.  They’re more 12 oz.  You can also bake the cobbler as a single dish in a 1-1/2 qt. casserole dish.  Just plan on extending the baking time to about an hour and 15 minutes.  In my neck of the woods, it’s still a little chilly so I used frozen fruit.  Fresh or canned would work, too, if you’ve got them.  I hope you enjoy it!

Cherry-Berry Cobblerettes

Filling:

6 c. fruit  (blueberries, blackberries, cherries, or 2 c. of each)

2 c. sugar

4 Tbsp cornstarch

2 Tbsp lemon juice

½ tsp vanilla or almond extract (use almond with cherries, vanilla with anything else)

2 Tbsp butter

Topping:

2 c. gluten free AP flour (You can use King Arthur, Tom Sawyer, or try my homemade blend – just don’t use anything with a heavy bean component)

¼ c. butter

½ tsp. Salt

½ tsp. Xanthan gum

2 tsp. Baking powder

2 Tbsp sugar

1 egg

½ c. + 2 Tbsp milk

cream

sparkle sugar

– Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

– In a bowl, mix filling sugar and cornstarch.  Toss with fruit.  Add extract and lemon juice and toss until combined.  Divide into individual souffle dishes or pour all into a 1-1/2 qt. Casserole.  Dot with butter.  Set aside.

– In a small bowl, sift together flour, xanthan gum, baking powder and salt.

– Cut in butter until mixture resembles coarse meal.  In a small bowl, beat together egg and milk.

– Stir into flour mixture until just combined.

– Drop by spoonfuls onto fruit mixture.  (I used a 1 oz disher, which helped portion the batter over the cobblers.  5 scoops/cobbler)

– Brush tops with cream and sprinkle with sparkle sugar.  Place in oven.  Bake about 20 minutes, then place foil over the top to prevent over-browning.  Bake an additional 30-45 minutes, until filling is hot and bubbly.  (Baking time will depend on whether your fruit was frozen or fresh).  Remove from heat and cool completely.

Cinnamon Ice Cream

¾ c. whole milk

1 vanilla bean

4 egg yolks

1/3 c. superfine sugar

1 tsp. High quality cinnamon, such as Penzey’s.

1 ¾ c. heavy cream

– Split vanilla bean.  Place with milk in a saucepan and heat until small bubbles just form on the edges.

– Remove from heat, cover and steep for 30-45 minutes.  Remove vanilla bean, scrape out seeds and return the scrapings to pan.  Return milk to heat.

– In a small bowl, beat together egg yolks, cinnamon and sugar.  Add some of the hot milk, a little at a time, whisking constantly.  When you have added about half of the milk to the egg yolks, return the egg yolk mixture to the pan and heat again.  Cook over medium-high heat until mixture thickens slightly and coats the back of a spoon.  Don’t overcook!  You’ll curdle the eggs.  Transfer to a heat-proof bowl, and cover with plastic wrap, pressing the wrap onto the surface of the mixture.  Chill till cold – 4-6 hours or overnight.

– Take custard base out of refrigerator, remove plastic wrap, and scrape any custard stuck to the plastic wrap back into bowl.  Stir in cream.  Process in ice cream maker according to manufacturer directions.  When finished, pack into a bowl, press waxed paper onto surface, and put in freezer to ripen.

– Make sure to allow ice cream to sit at room temperature for 10-15 minutes prior to scooping.

Enjoy, and come visit me sometime for more gluten free vintage recipes!

About FoodBabbles

I'm just a girl with a passion for good food. Especially the sweet side of life. I love to eat it, make it, read about it... if it has to do with food, it's for me. I'd like to share my food, writing and photos with you. Sometimes they come out great. Other times, well... there are some mishaps but I'll share those with you too. I'm only human! Either way, I enjoy it and hope you will too! So here are sugary, sweet culinary delights from my talented yet dangerously klutzy hands so obviously not bred to work with sharp knives and hot ovens.
This entry was posted in Desserts, First on the First, Gluten-Free, Guest Post, Ice Cream and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Cherry-Berry Cobblerettes with Cinnamon Ice Cream ~ A Guest Post By Holly of “Gluten Free Goes Vintage”

  1. Lisa says:

    I can’t believe these are GF. I’m amazed with some of the desserts I’ve seen and tasted minus gluten in which you can’t taste the difference. I have no doubt these are no exception to that rule! Saving this for sure! Great guest post, Holly..nice to meet you through Kate’s blog 🙂

  2. Pingback: The Weekend Whisk ~ 6/15/2012 | FoodBabbles

  3. Oh yum! I love that it doesn’t involve rolling out dough. Will have to try it out for sure.

Talk To Me!

