The Weekend Whisk ~ 6/15/2012


Welcome to The Weekend Whisk! This is a new weekly post that I’ll be doing here on Food Babbles. It will consist of some babbling about this and that I’m sure, but it will also include a weekly recap of things you may have missed. Also, each week I bookmark tons of delectable meals, drinks, snacks and of course, desserts that I find from other amazing blogs.  I’ll share some of those posts with you as well. Hope you enjoy this new feature! I’d love to hear your thoughts so definitely drop me a line and let me know what you think. So on to the very first edition of The Weekend Whisk!

This morning as you read this, I am in the process of being transformed into a bridesmaid. My sister-in-law is getting married today to her high school sweetheart of 10 years. About time!! I’m so happy for them. Now I’ll need to put the pressure on them to give my girls some cousins. So as you all read your newspapers, sip some coffee and hopefully have a wonderful weekend, you’ll find me celebrating wedded bliss until the wee hours or until my children call it quits.

This week, there will be some changes around here. Just a little something that I’m really excited for and I hope you’ll like it too! So look for that probably Tuesday. But not to worry, I’ll give you a heads up.

On another note, something completely unrelated to food but if you’re in the Tri-state (NY/NJ/PA) area and are a music fan, come on out to the Sam Ash in Springfield, NJ on June 20th at 7:00. My husband is hosting a charity drum clinic to benefit Strike A Chord which is a registered charity that supports seriously ill and disadvantaged children who need inspiration and a distraction from their illness.

The gift of music can offer a seriously ill or disadvantaged child comfort, hope and companionship at a time when they need it most. Strike A Chord makes a difference in seriously ill children’s lives through donating instruments and professional music tutoring. For kids who have a dream to play on stage, Strike A Chord even offers them the chance to play live with a band, and even record music through their uniqueMusic 4 Life program. This is a free event however, donations are greatly appreciated. And I’d love to meet you!! So if you see me, come on over and say “Hi!”

This week here on Food Babbles:

Very Berry Honey Galette with Lavender Whipped Cream

This project for BakeTogether was very well received by you all and I really appreciate it! I’m so glad you enjoyed it and for those of you who may have missed it I would love to hear what you think. This is a beautiful, fresh summer dessert that is so quick and easy to put together. This is the perfect dessert for a backyard barbecue.

Cherry Berry Cobblerettes with Cinnamon Ice Cream

This week I also introduced you to one of my fellow First on the First people, Holly who is the author of the blog Gluten Free Goes Vintage. Holly gave us these gluten free summer berry cobblerettes and that cinnamon ice cream that sounds like the perfect finishing touch.

Butterscotch Vanilla Bean Ice Cream

And last but not least, I had the pleasure of guest posting over on Erin’s blog, The Spiffy Cookie. Don’t ya just love that name? I do. I like the word “spiffy.” But I digress … I created a butterscotch ice cream that’s gonna knock your socks off. So head on over to The Spiffy Cookie and check it out.

Babbles Bookmarks

Raspberry Chipotle Jam by Jules Food: I’ve been so interested in canning actually since the end of last summer. I still have yet to try it but I am determined that this summer I will try my hand at it. This gorgeous jam inspires me. If you’re not familiar with this blog, Go. Now. It’s breathtaking. The pictures are perfection and the recipes are always intriguing.

S’mores Pudding Shots by My Baking Addiction: Boozy dessert? Yes please! S’mores are one of my all-time favorite treats thanks to years of camping with my dad and wonderful childhood memories. Add marshmallow fluff vodka to that classic treat and I’m all in.

Peanut Butter Brown Sugar Overnight Oatmeal by Parsley, Sage, Desserts & Line Drives: I’m a sucker for quick breakfasts. Breakfast that looks an awful lot like a dessert? That’s my favorite kind! This oatmeal can be made as healthy or as decadent as you want. So easy and so versatile. Not to mention, this blog is one of my very favorites. Lisa is a Jersey girl like me so that already makes her aces in my book. Her pictures are gorgeous and her posts always have me hanging on every word. Especially these days as she finishes out a 14 part story that I’ve been reading since the first post. I don’t want it to end yet I can’t wait to see what happens! Go check it out, you’ll see what I mean. You won’t be able to stop reading.

Very Berry Chocolate Tarts by Life’s A Feast: I adored this post from fellow BakeTogether participant and MacTweets leader, Jamie. You need to lay your eyes on these tarts. They are exquisite. Immediately they were clicked into the “must make” folder on my computer. Blueberries, raspberries, chocolate and a streusel topping. Perfection. 

Fresh Cherry Sidecar by Creative Culinary: By now you all know Barb, right? I’ve mentioned her just “a few” times and she’s even made a guest appearance here once while I was busy with the arrival of Molly. I admire Barb as a person, as a food professional, as a writer and as a friend. Also, if you ever need a good drink she’s your gal. This week is no exception. I loved this Fresh Cherry Sidecar and if I lived closer to Denver, I would have been knocking on her door for one.

So this ends the first edition of The Weekend Whisk! Let me know what you think! Is this something you enjoyed? I hope you all have a fantastic week!

~K

About FoodBabbles

I'm just a girl with a passion for good food. Especially the sweet side of life. I love to eat it, make it, read about it... if it has to do with food, it's for me. I'd like to share my food, writing and photos with you. Sometimes they come out great. Other times, well... there are some mishaps but I'll share those with you too. I'm only human! Either way, I enjoy it and hope you will too! So here are sugary, sweet culinary delights from my talented yet dangerously klutzy hands so obviously not bred to work with sharp knives and hot ovens.
This entry was posted in The Weekend Whisk. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Weekend Whisk ~ 6/15/2012

  1. Congratulations on your Weekend Wisk column, Kate.What a great idea!! I continually discover new and exciting things, not only about food, but what’s going on in your life and I love it. Please give Lindsay and her new hubby my best on this very happy occasion!
    Nan

  2. Lisa says:

    Kate – you’re so sweet to include me in your new Weekend Wisk column, and what you wrote about me made me blush – I’m so flattered! Thank you! I can extend the same to you, barring a 14 part, drawn out therapeutic (for me) love story Will it ever end? I just finished 13B, and it’s so long..I’m kind of embarrassed to post it! In any event..thank you, again..I’m so glad we met via Triberr – and looking forward to meeting you person 🙂

    • FoodBabbles says:

      You’re welcome. I truly love all of your recipes. You always “wow” me. And don’t be embarrassed that this edition of the story was so long… I’m loving it and judging by the comments on the post, everyone else is too. Can’t wait to meet you also!!

  3. What a great idea! I love it! You should definitely give canning a try. It really isn’t that hard; you just have to have some patience.

Talk To Me!

