Cheddar Apple Muffins ~ #MuffinMonday


When you’re two years old, your entire world revolves around eating. Madelyn asks for various foods and snacks from the moment she awakens, at way too early an hour for my liking until the moment she hits the hay. However, when you’re two years old you also get very picky about what foods you’re willing to eat each day. At the moment, Maddy’s diet consists of mostly a lot of fruits, Greek yogurt, red bell peppers, cheese and of course, any kind of muffin I put in front of her.

This week, Anuradha assigned us a savory muffin. A muffin that may not fit in with anyone’s new year resolution to eat better but would surely be tasty and worth the indiscretion none the less. Cheese and onion muffins with chives. Yum! Except for the fact that I don’t particularly care for chives. Also, there’s the matter of something green in the muffins. Nothing green crosses Maddy’s lips these days. So I decided to change it up a bit.

From Madelyn’s limited list of acceptable foods that she will eat these days, two of her favorite things are apples and cheddar cheese. The child eats a ridiculous amount of apples, in fact! So what better way to put a different spin on this week’s muffins? That’s a classic combination and I can’t say that I’ve ever had it in muffin form so I decided to give it a go. Let me tell you, it definitely works!

The tart apples with the savory cheddar cheese are wonderful together plus the apples make these muffins incredibly moist. A little sprinkle of cheddar over the tops of the muffins right before they go into the oven makes for a wonderfully pleasant crusty cheesy top when they come out. Also, as you may have guessed, they were very well received by the picky palate of the toddler in our household.

Enjoy!

~K

Cheddar Apple Muffins Heavily adapted from Home Baked (Women’s Weekly)

2 cups all-purpose

1 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/4 cup sugar

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/4 teaspoon cinnamon

1 1/2 cups cheddar cheese

1 egg

1 1/4 cup buttermilk

1/4 cup vegetable oil

1 large tart apple, cored and cut into small cubes

– Preheat the oven to 400 degrees. Line 12 muffin cups with liners.

– In a large bowl combine flour, baking powder, baking soda, sugar, salt and cinnamon. Stir in 1 cup of cheddar cheese.

– In a small bowl, whisk together egg, buttermilk and vegetable oil. Add to the dry ingredients. Stir until moistened.

– Fold in the apples.

– Fill muffin cups and sprinkle muffins with remaining cheddar cheese.

– Bake for 20-25 minutes or until a tester comes out clean.

– Enjoy!

 

Muffin Monday is an initiative by Baker Street. A culinary journey of sharing a wickedly delicious muffin recipe every week. Drop in a quick line to join her on her journey to make the world smile and beat glum Monday mornings week after week.

About FoodBabbles

I'm just a girl with a passion for good food. Especially the sweet side of life. I love to eat it, make it, read about it... if it has to do with food, it's for me. I'd like to share my food, writing and photos with you. Sometimes they come out great. Other times, well... there are some mishaps but I'll share those with you too. I'm only human! Either way, I enjoy it and hope you will too! So here are sugary, sweet culinary delights from my talented yet dangerously klutzy hands so obviously not bred to work with sharp knives and hot ovens.
This entry was posted in Muffin Monday, Muffins and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Cheddar Apple Muffins ~ #MuffinMonday

  1. Great combo, sounds perfect for my no-green-things 3-year-old!

  2. Maya says:

    Apples and cheese? Sounds like a heavenly combination to me! Maddy won’t be complaining, I’m sure. Happy new year, Kate!

  3. Barbie says:

    I like your muffin tops… they look so promising for a muffin — bursting with surprise and excitement. Apples and cheese… something I’d like to try one day!

    Happy Monday, Kate!

  4. What a great mom… your daughter must have loved these!

  5. Love the twist with the apples and cheddar – classic flavour combo that must have been great! And I hear ya about the picky kid syndrom. My 3 year-old is in quite a particular stage when it comes to food. For example; she’ll eat raw red peppers but not cooked. She can detect an onion no matter how small or pulverized it is within something. But she’ll eat any kind of seafood! Go figure 🙂

  6. Baker Street says:

    Apple and cheddar is such a stellar combination! I have to try this one.

  7. Yum, what a delicious bite for breakfast.

  8. Mitch says:

    I’m making them tonight and am going to add a little bit of crispy bacon. Can’t wait!

    • FoodBabbles says:

      Fantastic Mitch!! LOVE the bacon addition! Let me know how they came out and I think next time I am going to have to follow your lead and add bacon myself. Thanks for the idea!

Talk To Me!